You Are Involved in a Car Accident
What Do You Do?
If you are driver in an accident that results in personal injury, death or property damage totaling $1,000 or more, you must file a report with the Minnesota Department of Public Safety within 10 days.
Minnesota Motor Vehicle Accident Reports are available on the Web at www.dps.state.mn.us/dvs
or through law enforcement agencies.
The State of Minnesota Department of Public Safety has prepared a brochure, “In Case of a Crash”, to aid motorists involved in traffic accidents. BROCHURE HERE
Motorists are required to contact the police for all accidents involving personal injury or death. If an accident results only in property damage, it is not necessary to notify the police. However, the police should be notified if the damage includes a stop sign, semaphore, utility pole or other fixed object that may create a risk to public safety.
If the Chaska Police are called to investigate an accident:
- When there is no personal injury or damage to public property and the apparent total damage of the accident is less than $1000, the officer will facilitate an exchange of information.
- When an accident is reported more than 12 hours following the incident a state accident report will not be written the officer, unless sufficient extenuating circumstances exist.
- In all cases except the above-mentioned situations, an accident will be investigated and a report submitted by the officer. A report will also be written at the request of any involved party.